In addition to writing novels with a military theme such as ‘The Romance of War’, James Grant began working on his classic history of the capital in 1881. When it was published the following year, 50,000 copies were sold in the U.S.A.
Catherine Sinclair would have known James Grant the novelist who lived at 26 Danube Street, Stockbridge, Edinburgh. He was one of the first to join the 1st City of Edinburgh Rifle Volunteers when the regiment was formed in 1859.
A monument was erected to the memory of Catherine Sinclair in 1868. The memorial designed by John Rhind stands at the junction of Charlotte Street North and St. Colme Street.
Books and souvenirs are available in the Greyfriars KirkVisitors Shop. The church is now open from 11.00 am till 4.00 pm
Greyfriars Kirk re-opens to visitors today at 11.00 am. We’d be glad to see you if you’d like to pop in and take a look around. Visitors are asked to wear face covering if possible. This does not apply to children. Photograph by Saleema Rashid.
Local photographer Saleema Rashid takes fascinating views of the Old Town using an up to date technique creating unique, colourful and imaginative artwork while retaining the historic significance and perspective of her subject. Check out her website. https://www.instagram.com/saleema rashid photography.
The Sinclair Fountain was dismantled and put into storage in 1925. The top section of the fountain can still be seen standing beside the public walkway connecting Roseburn and Leith.
Catherine Sinclair and her sisters Elizabeth and Margaret lived at 133 George Street in the New Town.
Greyfriars Kirk opens to visitors on Monday 17th August at 11.00 am. Children and dogs are welcome. The world famous painting of the terrier by John McLeod can be seen in the Visitors Centre.
Catherine donated the funding to set up a drinking fountain for horses, dogs and the members of the public at the west end of Princes Street in 1859. The fountain caused traffic congestion especially when tramlines were laid along Princes Street for the horse-drawn trams and was moved twenty feet from its original location in […]